Hungover in Bosnia

4 Dec


True story: not to long ago I visited Sarajevo for the second time. The day we arrived was kind of rainy and unpleasant, so naturally we headed to a bar to keep dry. Ten hours, three bars, and countless beers later we climbed into our bunk beds, and woke up the next morning in a world of pain.

Not to worry though- I can say with some authority that Sarajevo is one of the best places to be hung over in the entire world. The reason: BOREK.

If you’ve never had borek you are living an incomplete life. This savory pastry consists of rolled phyllo dough stuffed with cheese, spinach, potatoes, or meat. It may be a Turkish dish, but the Bosnians do it the best, they cook it over charcoal rather than in a commercial oven, which gives it a completely different flavor and consistency.

There’s no amount of alcohol consumption that can’t be countered by a plate of charcoal cooked cheese borek drizzeled in yogurt sauce and accompanied by a turkish coffee. In under an hour this breakfast transformed me from the walking dead to a functional human being.

Now will some ambitious Bosnian please start a global borek franchise so that every bad morning can be resolved this easily.

4 Responses to “Hungover in Bosnia”

  1. annab81 December 6, 2011 at 1:27 am #

    Potato burek is my favorite! Oh, this is making me miss the Balkans. I lived in Belgrade and in Novi Sad, and have done a lot of travel in the region.

    Thanks for following me. Great idea for a blog!

  2. toddytravels December 6, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    This makes me want to fly to Bosnia, drink excessive amounts of alcohol and try borek the right way, hungover 🙂

    • Sara December 6, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

      Do it! You won’t regret it (much).

  3. alma December 10, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    Hey Girl! My friend owns 3 restaurants in the City that sell Pita ( we call it pita, and Croatians call it Burek) When you’re in the City again go get a slice at “Djerdan” in Manhattan, Astoria or Brooklyn….or better yet, come visit me in VT and my mom will make a mean Pita with cheese for you 🙂

    Love
    Alma

    PS love the blog!

Leave a comment